A Lucrative Life Lesson on a Locomotive

Posted: April 19, 2016 in Christianity, faith, God, Jesus Christ, religion, spirituality, Uncategorized
Tags:

Just last week as part of my regular workday routine, I squeezed into a crowded morning F train as one of millions of people heading to work in the city. Although I was being pressed by bodies on every side, I tried desperately to hold onto my heavy work bag, determined to not let it settle on the filthy floor of the train. Sometimes I let it hang low on my wrists close to my knees, sometimes I hoist it on my shoulders and I often had to shift the bag from one arm to the next in order to avoid overburdening one arm and equally balance the weight. The situation even required that I shift the entire position of my body just to stay grounded as I jolted with the movements of the train and the ebb and flow of the crowd entering and exiting the steel machine at each successive stop.

As I approached my stop, it came to mind that just like I gripped that bag on this seemingly regular weekday morning, I must have a strong hold on Jesus and my faith in God.  I may have to maneuver, shift and reorient at times as I’d done on my excursion to work, but the important thing is to not let go. Hold on and adjust in this life with a tight grip on the Lord of all. JUST HOLD ON! Many times on that short train ride, my arms got achingly tired, my back felt strained and I was resigned to drop that bag right where I stood, on the filth of the subway floor. Yet I’m proud to announce that my tenacity won out and I didn’t let go of that bag. I exited the train, bag firmly  in hand and went on my way. I had decided to hold on. I encourage you in the difficulties of life, highs and lows, pressures and pitfalls to hold on!

Nonetheless the less, if I’d dropped that bag I would have picked it up again. It wasn’t the end.  That’s the amazing thing about our Lord.  When we fall in our mess and the sins of this oppressed and  chaotic world, Jesus picks us up out of the filth, the shame and brokenness, bringing healing and freedom as he loves us ever so tenderly. Even if justice doesn’t always seem to come in this life, in the light of eternity all will be made right. Jesus always seeks to hold on to us, so my friend hold on to him!
# life’s metaphors are metaphors for life….and yet still I rise.

With peace and blessings may you continue to rise always,

Stillirise323

Leave a Reply

