Blessed Assurance

Posted: December 29, 2015 in Christianity, faith, God, Jesus Christ, religion, spirituality, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Isaiah 41:10 (NKJV)
10 Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

As I opened the Bible app on my phone to do my morning Bible reading, I hadn’t been particularly thinking or searching for this verse a day or two ago. Actually, to be quite honest, I haven’t been so disciplined in reading my Bible as I should.  Yet Isaiah 41:10 popped up unannounced and unasked as the Bible verse of the day.  Undoubtedly this is perhaps one of my top 10 “go to” verses in the Bible–you know the ones that you can recite in your sleep and that serve as a bedrock to any situation. How many times have I read this verse? How many times has it calmed me in times of uncertainty, fear or despair?  Yet this time, as is often the case when reading God’s word… this time it spoke to me a little differently.  In moments prior, the last three lines always anchored me—God’s strengthens me, helps me and upholds me.  But on this particular day as I read, my heart, my eyes, my entire being centered on the first two lines.

“Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God.”  Over and over I read: “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God.”

Then closing my eyes and meditating on it:  “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God.”

Then the revelation, peace and joy that comes with the piercing power of God’s word:  “God is with me! He is God! God is with me! He’s my God!” It was almost like I said to myself: “Girl don’t you know God is God and He’s with you? What’s wrong with you? What you worried about?”

Of course if you are a Christian you’ve heard that preached in countless sermons, taught in many bible study studies or you’ve just read it for yourself.  And of course we know in theory God is with us.  But how often  do we forget?  How common for us to know it in theory but not live as if we believe it or know it?  So frequently we don’t  live it in or day to day experience. It is so easy to give that encouraging word to someone else, but we can’t embrace it for ourselves.   And if you don’t know Christ as Lord and Savior, you may not know the beauty of God’s blessed assurance to be faithful to His people at all.

So as the last fleeting hours of 2015 pass us by and we embark on the adventure of the unknown in 2016, like me you  may be having moments of reflection, pursuing goals for the coming year, seeking strategies for the next steps and holding some apprehension about who, what, where and how to do it all.   It’s natural for these feelings to come. But the message is simple:   “Fear not, for I am with you; Do not be dismayed, for I am your God.”

Notice God didn’t say, “Fear not, I’m going to give power or make you wealthy or give you this or that.”  He simply said, “I am with you.  I am your God.”  And when we have Him, really and truly in every dimension of our lives, He is all we need.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine…..and yet still I rise!

With peace and blessings may you continue to rise always,

Stillirise323

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

