Just Going on Grace….

Posted: December 3, 2013 in Christianity, faith, God, Jesus Christ, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

School had been a part of my journey for so long.  Beyond elementary education and high school, I pushed through 4 years of college, 4 years of medical school and 3 years of residency training to become a physician.  That’s in addition to presently having to keep up with continuing medical education studies on an ongoing basis through my professional career.   I don’t take credit for these accomplishments.  All that I am, all that I have done and all that I will become I fully recognize and admit is due to the benefits of God’s grace.  I am the tangible and visible manifestation of the miracle and mystery, the immeasurable depth and detail, the intimacy and infinite possibilities of God’s grace.

It is the thread that weaves through and holds together every fabric of our existence.  When you draw breath each morning, can take a step forward, see food in the cupboard, clothes on your back, loving friends and family, enjoy the scent of spring flowers,  was spared that car accident, so and so forth –all of this  and more, every thing we are blessed to have or do, are compliments of that curious thing called grace.  Rooted in grace, is God’s  love; even when we don’t deserve it.  I will be the first to admit I am not perfect.  I’m an ok person, but catch me in the right mood and I am not so lovable.  But grace says I love you irregardless of , irrespective of and in spite of you.  I see your flaws, but I love you and I want to bless you anyhow.  God is merciful to extend His grace to us and in the same way, despite what we see and know, we must extend that type of grace to others.

It was by God’s grace that I came from being a little Jamaican girl of a modest background, to a family physician practicing in New York City.  When endless hours in the hospital sometimes overwhelmed me to the point of wanting to give up, it was God’s grace that was sufficient and His strength that was shown perfect in my weakness.   It was God’s grace that kept my sanity through some really difficult trials and heartbreak.   It was His mercy and grace that spared my life and supernaturally delivered me from some dangerous situations.  I need no convincing regarding the reality of God’s grace.  I have seen and experienced it firsthand over and over again in day to day living and in miraculous ways. The unbelievable fact is that grace is not something I earned or deserved.  True to the scripture that “all have sinned and come short of the glory of God (Roman 3:23, NKJV), I fall short of His glory and commit trespasses every day.  But God’s grace, his unmerited favor, through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ is the gift that He lovingly and freely gives to bless us and allow us to overcome the inevitable trials we must face.

That being said, given my journey thus far, surely I would be the last  person that anyone would expect to return back to school.  Surely I had paid my dues and put in enough time?  Right?  Well, God is certainly not everyone and He certainly is not just anyone. The Lord spoke to me about seminary back in 2010 while taking a bible course at a friend’s church, where the pastor of the church wrote “this is seminary level work” on a paper I had written.  This would give me a further glimpse of the overall plan God had for my life.   Shocked and humbled by the comment, I got a quickening in my spirit that comes when only God is speaking.  Terrified and still unsure, I didn’t share this with anyone.  My thought process was something like this:

“Really Lord?  More school”?   I enjoyed the bible institute and the subsequent discipleship classes I took a at Greater Allen Cathedral, but formal school? I loved learning more about God, the things related to the gospel, the Church and the Kingdom.  I looked forward to that aspect of school.  But the pressures of papers, deadlines, public speaking—Lord are you serious? Seminary school?  “Alright, Lord if this is You,  I really don’t believe it is for now.  You have to confirm every detail of this endeavor—timing, location, everything.  I told you wherever you take me I will go, but this is a big move.  I don’t want to take this step until I’m absolutely sure.”  That was fall 2010. Over the following years I prayed, waited and watched.  All the while I drew closer to Him and developed a deep relationship with Him.  He began to show Himself in ways I never knew before and where I struggled with hearing God previously, I now am so much better at discerning His still small voice.   I learned to allow God’s Holy Spirit to “ …guide me in all truth..” (John 16:13, NLT) and “… teach me in all things…” (John 14:26, NKJV).

Finally, over the past year the Lord began to confirm through other people, unaware of what I felt in my spirit years ago, that I was destined to go  to seminary or pursue some sort of path in formal ministry.   I still don’t know all that God is up to.   But that is the comforting thing about God. I don’t have to have it all figured out.   Even when we are clueless and totally unsure,  God knows.  God is omniscient—He is all knowing.  He knows everything about all things at all times.  He knows the grandest to the most minuscule details of my life.  Even when I step out in blind faith, I am stepping out with an all-seeing God beside me.  Notice I said beside me because He is omnipresent.  He is always present.  Herbert Lockyer said it best in his book, All the Doctrines  of the Bible when he said God “has no center and His circumference is everywhere.”  God told me through His word “Behold, I am with you and I will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; I will not leave you until  I have done what I have spoken to you” (Genesis 28:15, NKJV).  Based on that scripture, because God is always speaking and it will take my lifetime to fulfill my purpose, God is sure to never forsake me.  His word cannot lie. Finally God is omnipotent.  All power is in His hand.  His very essence is power.  So not only is He with me through this life’s journey, but He has the power to bring every plan and purpose for my life to pass.  The arm of he Lord is not shortened.  Having applied to seminary, by God’s grace and provision I  have been accepted to start in  2014.

And so begins the next leg of the journey and I press on. Where would I be without the gifting of God’s grace?  Grace has brought me thus far and it will see me to the very end.  I know I can’t rise without it simply because, God’s:

Gifts & Resources  Allow Constant Elevation.

And Yet Still I Rise,

With peace and blessings may you continue to rise always,

Stillirise323

Comments
  1. frank says:

    Too humble :). You really have to write a book one day. March on as God continue to lead you.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Amen! That was powerful. Thank you for being humble to God & allowing him to talk through you. Your words go a long way.

Leave a Reply

