Mustard…It’s More Than A Condiment

Posted: November 3, 2013 in Christianity, faith, God, Jesus Christ, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Near and dear to my heart, I have a special love for him.  He doesn’t speak.  With a few fragmented sentences he can articulate what he wants:  “I want ice cream, I want car (meaning to drive in the car).”  He points to himself and utters  “soda”, to express his desire for soda.  He’s good at echoing; he can  repeat what you tell him to say and follow directions of what to do. But he can’t  converse.  6″2, handsome, physically well.  Yet thirty years strong with the intellectual capacity of a 2 year old.  He is my brother Kevin.  We call him Kev for short. The doctors chalk it up to autism and mental retardation.  That’s the label and the final diagnosis.  Nothing else to do.  The intellectual part of me, my flesh, can identify with what they say. I work in the medical field and we see it fairly regularly.  But I know different.  It’s deeper than that. Kev’s plight is spiritual.  It is the handiwork of the devil live and in living color.  But I don’t focus on the cause. That’s the least of it.  I focus on the solution.  My faith tells me that whatever the reason, he can be healed.  Whatever the root cause, it can be uprooted. He will be healed in Jesus name.

The bible says with faith the size of a mustard seed we can move mountains (Matthew 17:20).   I’ve personally never seen a mustard seed, but apparently they are very small; about the size of a pencil point.  So even a small amount of faith is acceptable.  That’s all you really need to overcome.  But in the words of my other beloved brother, Drew, I must say: “I don’t know about a mustard seed, but I think I have enough to grow a mustard tree.” Mustard seed faith is good.  But if I could go one step further, I want to have mustard tree level faith. I believe in my Father that much.  I’ve seen the Lord work.  I’ve seen Him level mountains in my life and the lives of others.  Is anything too hard for God? Kevin’s predicament is nothing for Him to fix.

Do you have mustard seed or even more,  mustard tree faith?  The bible says that faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen (Hebrews 11:1, KJV).  In simple terms it’s having the assurance that what you are hoping for is already done although you don’t yet see it.  Trusting God will bring it to pass although it has not yet manifested.   We are quick to put our faith in lotto, other people, our own abilities; essentially in everything unstable and flawed.  Yet we fail to put our faith in the God that is faultless and completely flawless.  What are you believing God for today?  As I stand in faith for Kevin’s complete restoration and deliverance in this life, I stand in faith with you for whatever you are believing God for.  Let us bond in faith, trusting and resting  in the power of our awesome God. Know that He is able and He never fails.  And although God may not always give us exactly what we want( that part is not  always easy), He always gives us what is best for us in the end.  Even in disappointment, God can bless us in ways beyond our superficial human expectations and limited human understanding. Trust  and know not some things, not most things, not a few things but ALL things work together for the good of those who love the Lord…. (Romans 8:28, KJV).

May our faith expand from mustard seed to mustard tree….and yet still I rise.

With peace and blessings may you continue to rise always,

Stillirise323

Comments
  1. Aminisha Ferdinand says:

    thanks for this one. reminds me about continuing prayer for those near and dear to me whose illnesses are irreversible in reality, but with God ALLLLL things are possible.

    • Praise God Ami. Thank you. In the natural it may seem illness is irreversible, but the REALITY is that with God all things are possible. Is the arm of the Lord shortened? I believe in the power of God! God bless and thanks again my sister:)

Leave a Reply

