Ready, Prep, Go….what are you serving?

Posted: September 15, 2013 in Christianity, faith, God, Jesus Christ, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been nagging at you for a while.  You know you are meant to do more.  Maybe start a business, write a book, go back to school–something.  Yet days turn into weeks, weeks into months, months into years and you have not taken the first step forward.

The bible says in Genesis 18 that  the Lord came to visit Abraham in the form of three men.  And because hospitality was so key during those times  and let’s face it, it was God after all,  in a show of hospitality, service and honor  Abraham “ran to the herd and selected a choice, tender calf and gave it to a servant, who hurried and prepared it” (Genesis 18:7, NIV)

Like that choice calf there are some choice assignments or situations that God  will give you to prepare or handle. It might be to encourage someone, pray for someone, lead a church ministry, go back to school, be a caretaker to the sick, write a song…anything.  How will you handle it? Will you be like the servant in the scripture who Abraham asked to prepare the calf? My sense is he wasted no time—the scripture says he  hurried and prepared it.    Abraham his master gave the assignment and immediately he went to tackle it. How often does our Master  give us something to do and we delay, sit on it or dream up all manner of excuses not to do it,  myself included.  “Lord I’m tired; let somebody else do it; I don’t know what I’m doing; I’m doing enough”–do these excuses ring  a bell?  All the while God has designed, equipped and fashioned you for this specific assignment.  And just like that calf was  choice and tender, some situations we are assigned may be delicate, fragile and requires some special handling with care.  But know that if He called you to do it, by the leading of the Holy Spirit, the gifts He as given you and His grace, you will successfully complete every task you are assigned.

Now I understand that some things we are given to do, may be on hold for a future date.  But ask God to help you complete those things you should be doing right now.  Whether it be doubt, fear, lack of resources, etc. let Him remove every hinderance to you preparing your choice calf.

God loves a serving of obedience to His will.  Won’t you feed Him that today?  Praying to prepare and handle every calf to His satisfaction….and yet still I rise.

With peace and blessings may you continue to rise always,

Stillirise323

Comments
  1. montwhit29 says:

    Are you trying to tell me something sis?? Besides wanting to start my own business , as you already know, I was talking to Adrian about us doing mentoring to young men and women. Less than two weeks later on of my students came to me and said Ms Keisha, your like a big sister to me that’s why I always come and bother you. She proceeds to say I’ve never seen a black woman in power anywhere until I came to this school. It really made me feel good that someone saw that I cared about them besides just doing my job. Now your making me if I should be doing more or if I’m doing enough. Well you know who I have to talk to now to get clarity. I’ll let you know what GOD tells me!!!!

  2. jennifer williams says:

    So true !

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

